FOUR (4) DAYS OF TARTE MUST HAVES – SHAPE TAPE (day 3)

So I am currently writing this sitting in a window of my hotel in Manhattan, NY and I think it’s going to rain which I don’t mind very much, I’ve always found rain to be well – calming in a way. It’s 3:08am in the morning and I woke up so that I would be able to get everything I have to done – coffee XL ✔️ eleven (11) espresso shots ✔️ SHAPE TAPE ✔️

 I also wanted to take a second to welcome my 77k of new followers, welcome to makeupandthecity welcome to my life, welcome to the world of public relations, communications, marketing and lifestyle.  You will find what you are looking for – I can promise you. Questions? Comments? Check out pages for what you might be looking for.  Something I would like to say, WordPress in which my site operates – gives me the ability to approve all social aspects of my site – I still see your comments and likes (yes some slip through) but i do answer you all – there is a reason who I don’t approve any of the wonderful comments, sadly, I’ll say it was massively ruined by someone else. 

TARTE SHAPE TAPE is a vegan friendly, creamy concealer for radiant coverage and contouring of the skin. When you purchase SHAPE TAPE it’s a limit of only two (2) per customer – online that is – I’ve never purchased SHAPE TAPE before so I’m not sure how exactly it would work in Sephora

DID YOU KNOW ➡️ one (1) shape tape is sold every 26 seconds? #shapetapenation 

Sculpt and highlight as you mask imperfections with this 2-in-1 full coverage concealer. The hydrating, longwearing formula delivers natural, radiant coverage across all skin types so you can instantly brighten and cover acne, dark circles and redness while softening the look of pores and fine lines. 

Wear it 1-2 shades lighter or darker, and it works as a creamy highlighter or contouring stick with a lightweight, blendable formula and tapered wand applicator ideal for precise strobing and sculpting. 

Powered by Amazonian clay and conditioning mango seed and shea butters, the nutrient-rich concealer helps promote skin elasticity and illumination with each crease-free application. 


I’m almost sure if you read beauty blogs and watch beauty videos you’ve heard of or seen SHAPE TAPE – all of the top social influencers of 2016-2017 have been using it in every video still to date and it’s not for promo, it’s not because they are sent it – it’s because it’s a kick ass concealer. 

So, Tarte’s official name for this concealer is the “Double Duty Beauty Shape Tape Contour Concealer” which gives us a good hint as to how Tarte intended this product to be used. Double Duty means you can use this product as both a concealer and a contour / highlight.

It’s available in 14 shades, and the lightest shade is very light and perfect for highlighting pale to light skin.

The claims are that this product is long-wearing and hydrating, and provides “natural, radiant” coverage. 

I do find it very long-wearing and quite hydrating for being a very full-coverage concealer, but the finish is definitely on the matte side. 

As a concealer Shape Tape is perfect.  It’s very full coverage yet the formula is lightweight. You can cover blemishes easily and blend out the concealer seamlessly and with no dryness or flaking on the skin. They really nailed this formula and it truly is hydrating for providing such an opaque coverage.

I’m someone who needs a crap ton of coverage from my concealer, and Shape Tape gives me just that. Plus, without the downsides of a full coverage concealer. (Maybe because I mostly wear only concealer on small areas of my face) 

(Truthfully this is not an updated routine – not much has changed except I don’t get spot breakouts anymore. This is from 2016) 

If you’re not a fan of the NARS Radiant Creamy concealer because it’s too drying or creases on you, look into Shape Tape instead. 
IN THE KNOW ➡️ I love NARS and have always loved NARS even the Radiant Creamy Concealer but I am going off what I’m reading and taking all of it into consideration and applying it to the best way to help yoü. 

For highlighting, it also does a great job. To make sure we’re on the same page, “highlighter” in this case means using a shade that’s a bit lighter than you skin tone. It’s going to act as a matte highlighter (absolutely no glow) on the high points of your face. 

➡️ under the eyes, chin, nose, middle of forehead. 

Please don’t kill me but when it comes to contour that’s where you will not see shape tape shine as bright as you’ve seen before. This is disappointing because one (1) not everyone with a deeper skintone is warm-toned, and two (2) it means that you can’t use these products to contour. This is exactly what I think is the problem with using Shape Tape as a contour shade. I also need to point out that this isn’t an easy contour to blend out, even if you find a suitable shade. I wouldn’t recommend buying this product to use as a contour.

Chances are you can’t use this concealer for contour. And even if you find your contour shade, contour requires more blending than highlight. I’ve tried to use this as contour and it was harder to blend.

As a concealer and highlighter, and I think Shape Tape deserves the praise it’s been getting. As a contour product, absolutely not. If you’re looking for a full coverage concealer that will cover the gnarliest undereye circles or blemishes, this is it. It’s also lightweight, long-lasting (no need to powder) and hydrating.

➡️ Like tarte on Facebook: tarte cosmetics, follow tarte on twitter: @tartecosmetics, share on Pinterest: tartecosmetics & watch our YouTube channel: tarte cosmetics


