SUMMER SKIN | SMASHBOX COSMETICS – CONCEAL AND FIX 

I actually used to be very very close with one of the top dogs at smashbox studios in LA – we would talk constantly and I was invited to smashbox a number of times and when they did a like nation wide smashbox beauty show just introducing new products and talking about the brand when they came to Toronto we met for drinks and had a lot of fun but as I would be sent huge shipments of smashbox products to use on set, review and use I started to find that not all of the products were as good as I thought they were looking back – in fact I voiced my concern for some of the products and was told to my phone (via the phone) they were aware of the same issues and these products would be discontinued so I continued to support and love the brand, I think it’s because smashbox cosmetics was one of the first brands that I really fell in love with back in the MySpace days and the first brand I reached out to to help me product on set. 

Now I’m not hating on smashbox at all smashbox was bought out by Esteé in early July 2010 and sold for between two hundred (200) million and three hundred (300) million but smashbox pulls in about eighty (80) million in wholesale revenue and one hundred and forty (140) million in retail sales. I still do love smashbox but it is limited things that I will use on set and I will warn a lot that if you are fair – light be prepared for the color you see to not be the color you walk out of the house with. They sadly do oxidize and turn orange

They are still a top dog in the eyeshadow palettes and collections departments – killing it with sales and paying their influencers very well. Please note ➡️ all products mentioned have been sent to me for opinion good or bad.  

SMASHBOX 24 HOUR CC SPOT CONCEALER (said to be discontinued) and I’m noticing on the website and in stores whatever is sold out is not being restocked so maybe that is happening. This was my all time favourite concealer I would write about it all the time because this 24-hour, waterproof concealer was created in the L.A. photo studio to instantly cover dark spots, sun spots and post-acne marks while fading the look of them in as little as 4 weeks. You’re basically concealing and treating all at once, which means it covered red spots and imperfections BUT would oxidize so fast and I’m talking the shade fair so the lightest it went and it was very noticeable to everyone but I loved it and it was new and I had it before anyone else so I thought it was amazing. If anyone remembers last summer – my 2016 summer skin favourites (2017 coming soon) it was always talked about! 

SIDE NOTE ➡️ smashbox also only came out with seven (7) shades that really didn’t match very many, maybe it was due to the concealer and the way it mixed with the heat and oils of the skin – I’m not sure. Sadly though it faded out of my mind. I also remember every time you would close the product more then you would use one your face would come out as you close it so it was also wasteful good thing I have one hundred and fifty (150) of them. 

• 24-hour wear thanks to Photoset Polymers created with medical-grade liquid bandage technology that bends and adheres to skin (big claim but it was turn! If it wasn’t for the fact it oxidized it would have been x20 more huge) 

• Waterproof

• Sweat & humidity-resistant

SMASHBOX STUDIO SKIN CONCEALER was developed waterproof, hydrating 24-hour concealer in the L.A. photo studio to look good in any light. Smashbox is the only brand with Flashbox Lighting Lab, where they test and perfect color consistency across 10 shades. This concealer blends flawlessly without creasing, caking or settling. Forget about midday touch-ups or makeup fatigue and for the most part what I’m saying here is completely true but it is not 24-hour wear at all. Again why only 10 shades.. 


It is formulated without Parabens, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Phthalates, Oil, Fragrance & Talc. All of smashbox is cruelty-free

There is also all kinds of people with all kinds of skin concerns and needs while yes I have a bit of discolouration under the eyes and it covered it well – a client who had really bad dark circles it didn’t work so well on. 

➡️ to me this concealer is A LOT like the KAT VON D LOCKIT concealer.

Try it out and let me know your thoughts in the “pages” tab. 

A moment silence for the fallen smashbox concealer no longer available to consumers. 


⬇️DON’T FORGET⬇️

Giveaway for NEW followers only, click the follow button and be entered in a chance to win a MacBook in gold – share the post and you’ll be entered x3 – in partnership with xtrememac!

⬇️05/19/2017⬇️

MARC JACOBS BEAUTY x MAKEUPANDTHECITY

